Kittens Caught in Trees, Men Caught in Energy Futures Contracts

If all of humanity were stuck up in trees,
I might contemplate a career as a fireman.

But that’s an absurd 7,000,000,000+ trapped;
with numbers like that the canopies pack quickly.

Tree to tree I’d wear my ladder rungs into curves;
limb to limb, aching, my sympathies fast would wear flat.

So I’d leave them all, starving next to acorns in the night,
to gather cute kittens for a new world order.

One thought on “Kittens Caught in Trees, Men Caught in Energy Futures Contracts

Leave a Reply

